Purple Collars in July

Phew. Deep breath. A whole lot of activity, a whole lot of sleep and then a rush again. School ended a week ago, and as I prepared to leave for the Black Sheep Gathering, ready the house for my father who was going to stay with my son and finish some custom orders, I was struck down by an acute sore throat. It left me speechless and gasping in pain. Needless to say, we had to cancel the trip to Oregon and I was forced to sleep for the better part of four days until my strep culture finally came back positive.

My parents stepped in as the heroes of the day, taking over caring for the house and for me without skipping a beat. As soon as the youngest returned from a birthday party, they whisked the children north of the border so I could continue my convalescence and catch up with last minute business details before shutting down my production for the summer.

First thing on my list was to post the rest of the nunofelt scarves I photographed in early June. There are still two more nunofelt scarves in the rosewood series not photographed, and a couple more turquoise scarves, but they will have to wait until fall.

Two custom orders for purple collars prompted me to begin a new series unexpectedly in late June. I was trying unsuccessfully to make a small crescent of felt lay flat on my neck. When it refused to cooperate, I cut little points to give it some ease and voila!

In addition to the pink collar, I made four larger purple collars and a few pieces of fabric using a merino/tencel roving blend – a total of twelve pieces for two custom orders. Unfortunately the delicate nature and the beautiful drape of the merino/tencel fabric made it too fine to hold up for this form. The buttons would have ripped a hole in the fabric, even with a reinforced buttonhole. I’ll have some experimenting to do with those pieces later.

With a custom order for four felt boxes left, and a tutorial to photograph for a new kit, I’m just about ready to clear out. Maybe Saturday if all goes well in the next two days. In the meantime, I’ve photographed most of my current inventory and posted it in my etsy shop. There are still a few more pieces, but I really hate photographing myself, and as the clouds started to clear this morning, the battery on my camera died, so I called an end to the photo session.

4 Responses to “Purple Collars in July”


  1. 1 Josiane Thursday, June 26, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    Isn’t wonderful to have parents who can come to the rescue when we need it? I’m glad they were there for you so that you could get better as fast as possible. Too bad you had to cancel your trip, though.
    Those new collars are lovely!

  2. 2 sarah Friday, June 27, 2008 at 3:29 am

    The shawls and collars are just beautiful. I love your work. Glad you are feeling better.

  3. 3 red2white Friday, June 27, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    I have been thinking a lot about you recently, Leah, I am also packing and leaving my creative space for more than a month. Not easy, on one hand, on the other hand looking forward to spending more time with the nearest and dearest. Have a good summer time all of you!!! ox Monika

  4. 4 Sara's Texture Crafts Wednesday, July 2, 2008 at 1:05 am

    Stunning work!

    When you are back check out http://workingwithfelt.ning.com/ would be lovely to see you over there.


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


