Swaddled in Felt

There is nothing I love more than a challenge, though my family might claim otherwise. When Carrie asked me if I’d ever made a full size version of the sleepsack I prototyped in the spring, I knew it was time to pull out the wool.

stroller_mosaic_sm

Since this needed to be warm, windproof and soft, three layers of roving would be required. Starting with handdyed passionfruit lychee corriedale roving from portfiber.etsy.com, I laid out a large piece of flat felt on a six-foot table, covering just about the whole thing. Next I drafted a second layer of corriedale and finished it with a third layer with solid merino.

Carrie had done some shopping online to find the perfect stroller sack, so she was able to guide me with the finer points of engineering. It had to be wide open at the bottom in case of muddy feet, but a pocket where clean warm feet could rest would also keep her son warm. I bought an extra long two way zipper for one side, and then inserted a shorter zipper on the other side so the front could be adjusted to the right height.

6 Responses to “Swaddled in Felt”


  1. 1 nova Tuesday, February 10, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    ooo that looks lovely & snuggly!

  2. 2 Florcita Wednesday, February 11, 2009 at 4:04 am

    Such beautiful colors! does look extra warm and cozy!

  3. 3 Josiane Wednesday, February 11, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    You did a wonderful job! It looks fabulous!

  4. 4 red2white Monday, February 16, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    It is very preety and looks very professional! Wel done again! Monika

  5. 5 Vicky Sunday, March 1, 2009 at 1:20 am

    That is just gorgeous! I would like one large enough for me!

  6. 6 Shane Wednesday, March 18, 2009 at 7:07 am

    Very nice! Interested in making another??


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


