Pig on Parade

A weekend away with the women in my bookclub gave me the time to try another needlefelt sculpture. One of the ladies brought a Japanese needlefelting book, so while watching Rachel Is Getting Married, I worked creating my first pig.

pink_pig

Proportion and balance are my biggest challenges in needlefelting creatures. It is hard to gauge just how much wool to use for the different body parts. The head was too large once I attached it, causing the pig to fall flat on his face.

Once I returned home, I slit open his back end, inserted a rock and then covered the opening with some more roving. That was enough to restore his equilibrium, as long as his legs are spread apart.

To make the tail, I felted a bit of roving into a rope, wrapped it around a paintbrush and then pinned it in place. Once dry, I removed the pins which left a coiled spring. Perfect!

4 Responses to “Pig on Parade”


  1. 2 carrie Thursday, April 30, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    Adorable! Glad to see you’re continuing to stretch your comfort zone 🙂

  2. 3 betterfelt Friday, May 1, 2009 at 4:00 am

    Hiya,

    I must say that I greatly admire the curly tail!! I think there will be great milage (for me) in that tail in other combinations. Maybe a box with curlicues??

    I also laughed when I read: “I inserted a rock into the backend..”. There is a close affinity with rocks, isn’t there?

    Excellent workk! Cheers, Viv

  3. 4 laurie sharp Friday, May 1, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    This little pig is super cute!


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories


