Brain Dump

In the last few days, I’ve come across an abundance of amazing events, letters and websites. Since my work at the moment is in a pure production phase, I’m going to share other people’s cool stuff instead.

snail

Wet spring weather brings out the godzilla slugs in our garden. Before I go to bed, I walk out in the rain to peel them off my tender new lettuce. Despite my dislike of the creatures, I couldn’t resist this felt snail.

I can’t recall what chain led me here, but Gartenfilz von Frauke is only one of many fantastic pieces in the Filz Galerie, a German gallery of felt pieces created by participants in Feltalong. I really, really wish I read German because I want to know more about the other pieces in the blog.

If you want to participate in the Crafster Feltalong challenges, search for ‘feltalong‘ discussions on the Craftster felting discussion boards.

feltunitedGet on board for the International Day of Felt, October 3.  2009 is the International Year of Natural Fibers, as declared by the United Nations. Sign up, spread the word, plan, organize and participate. More details at FeltUnited.

Future Craft Collective is a very creative group of energetic folks working to make something beautiful in community. Two things melt my heart: seeing people make art together and watching a child bring an idea to life. Some lucky folks in Austin may get to work with them in person; I’ll have to settle for admiring from a distance and then continuing to build art in my community.

kleas_blog_sm

The yummy felt bead necklaces made by  Kleas and company for Mother’s Day gifts look good enough to eat. These remind me of the world’s best salt water taffy, but made of wool. What more could a mother want?

Not sure how to describe the next bit, except to say watching this video and getting into the mind of this woman led me to dimensions I had never imagined. See and watch crochet coral as examples of hyperbolic geometry.

paper_boatTime for a slight fiber detour to the world of paper craft. Make some crazy collage, paint some paper, sew some paper together, fold a boat and then mail it to Joanne Kaar. Each piece will  be auctioned in support of Mary-Ann’s Cottage, a living history museum in Scotland. Submission deadline is August 10, 2009.

Stating my intention here,  in the hopes that will make it happen (thank you Future Craft Collective), I plan to embellish paper with the parents and children of Seattle API at the next monthly gathering of the Handcraft Group. Look on theirblog for photos of the oustanding pieces they have received so far.

5 Responses to “Brain Dump”


  1. 1 joniphippin Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 11:54 pm

    hi,
    I used a page translator which worked perfectly on your links.

    yahoo – babel fish.

    I down loaded it some time ago. give it a go.

  2. 2 betterfelt Friday, May 15, 2009 at 3:34 am

    Hi Leah,

    I speak German, so if there is anything in particular you would like to know, just ask.

    The latest item Frauke featured on her blog (the fly catching curtain), was made from left-over bits. The strings were weighted down by felted stones (a soul-mate?).

    The snail you pictured seems to be one of several pieces she positions in her garden and LEAVES them there. She reports back that several survived 3 years. When something grows mouldy, she just cuts it back.

    Good luck with your production line.

    Viv

  3. 3 slowfamilyliving Friday, May 15, 2009 at 7:34 am

    Thanks for the link to our Future Craft Collective! We really appreciate it. Come to Craftzine on Monday when we’ll have our first featured campless summer camp project. It’s a great project about making a Family Summer Center as a place to hold your summer intentions and inspirations.

    Love your blog!

    Bernadette
    Austin, TX

  4. 4 betterfelt Friday, May 15, 2009 at 8:47 am

    Hi (again),

    Amendment to previous comment: went back to the blog again, to have 2nd look at the fly curtain & only then realised that it is a GROUP blog.

    The curtain was made bei Allerleirauh: a lovely name from one of the Grimm’s Fairy Tales (I think she covered herself in a coat of many fur pieces when she went into exile: I have to look it up). So sorry for confusing different contributors. That happens when you only look at pictures.

    Viv

  5. 5 Rachel Wednesday, May 20, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    I’m doing the slug and snail run every morning here too. Totally embarrassing but I’m still shrieking half the time. =) This is my first visit to your blog and WOW! It’s gorgeous here! I came by to check out your awesome tutorials. I’d love to link to some if you didn’t mind.


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories


