Yart Sale & Indie Roundup

What is a Yart Sale? Art + Yard Sale = Yard Sale.

Yart Sale Banner

A great promotion running June 10-14 across Etsy.com. Type the word ‘yart’ into the search field  to see the great things on sale. Nothing is sacred and there are no limitations: art, supplies, patterns and vintage are being cleared out.

yart_mosaic_sm

I’ve listed scarves from last year and beyond. Time to push the old stuff out to make room for the new. There just isn’t space in my studio for more. Free shipping on all Yart Sale items. Valid through June 14th.

While I’m promoting Etsy, I have to mention four wonderful women I met this weekend at the Indie Banditas Bazaar. There were many familiar faces from the EtsyRain community and a couple of artists I recognized instantly from other indie venues. However, the women at these four booths were my neighbors on the floor. Their businesses were new to me, though I hope to see much more of them in the future.

piecesofpieces_sm

Laura makes funky, fun and colorful menstrual pads for Amy’s RagBag using reclaimed cotton, flannel, hemp and silk. She is a sweet, generous woman with a great sense of humor. Just don’t put any SoftSoap in her way. While it may be a scandalous and bold idea, I’m planning to put together loot bags with her pads from my daughter’s tenth birthday, with her full consent of course.

greenbelts_sm

Shannon of Greenbelts shared my corner of the room on Saturday. She makes cuffs, belts, dog collars and rings with repurposed buttons, belts and other bits of ephemera. Her winning smile charmed an awkward tween boy deliberating over his first leather cuff and mesmerized my daughter.

island_bag_sm

Hillary of Island Provisions makes uber cool guitar straps, bags, wallets. I want to learn how to play the guitar just so I have an excuse to wear one of those straps. Maybe I can incorporate one of her straps into a new felted messenger bag. Island Provisions gets a gold star for the best booth set-up: four stools and some hinged boards covered with cloth, plus some firewood and great signs nailed to weathered chunks of 2×4. Love their woodsy aesthetic.

lucilles_sm

Last, but not least, Lisa’s gratitude journals and notebooks stole my heart. The perfect pocket sized notebook with a gentle reminder to mark each day with a note about the good things in our lives. Lucille’s should be open for business shortly.

All in all, it was a great show. I met lots of interesting people, talked lots of felt and needlefelted three geodes during the quiet moments. Many thanks to Katie and Rhonda for the work they putting it all together. I look forward to the next show.

1 Response to “Yart Sale & Indie Roundup”


  1. 1 Katie Monday, June 22, 2009 at 1:30 am

    Leah,
    I just have to tell you how AMAZING you are!! Not only am I addicted to your soaps, I love creating things from the remains. My daughters 2nd birthday is in a few days and after using the HELL out of our soap, I was able to use the felt to make a little baby doll for her. Out of the 57 artists that participated in our bazaar, you were the most asked about. I hope you will be a vendor in our next bazaar. I’d like to take 25.00 off your fees to have you join us. If you are interested in being involved more with our bazaar, I would love to have you.
    Take care and hope to hear from you,
    Katie


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


