Wrap it Up and Roll it Out: Recycled Felt Pencil Roll-Up

One of the things I like to do with each sale in my etsy shop is include a small handmade card. Typically it is a little leaf, colored then painted with watercolor pencil crayons. It adds a little bit of time to the packaging, but I enjoy receiving a note when I buy something handmade, so it seems I should return the favor. Every buyer deserves to feel like they have bought themselves a gift, right?

However, there is no getting around the fact that towards the end of November, when time is in short supply, it would be handy to have a bunch of cards made in advance. As I prepared to leave my house, packing up my pencil crayons and cards seemed like a project I could bring with me to the cabin.

pencil_roll_sm

The only problem was how to keep all the pencils together and still make them available. Inspired by a knitting needle keeper I’d seen a few years previous, I sewed a pencil keeper out of recycled wool sweaters. The striped ribbing keeps the pencils in place when I’m carrying the bundle rolled up.

pencil_roll_up_sm

One of my knitting friends gave me a lovely olive green sweater that was machine knit side to side. It had an interesting construction that I was able to use to my advantage. I sewed some twill tape into the seam and then threaded it through a button hole to wrap around the bundle and tie it shut. Wrapped up and ready to roll!

1 Response to “Wrap it Up and Roll it Out: Recycled Felt Pencil Roll-Up”


  1. 1 The Crafty Retailer Saturday, August 22, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    What a great project! I think I am going to have to whip one up for myself….


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories


