Mystery Package Birthday Contest

The mail carrier brought three packages yesterday. The contents of two were easy to identify: buttons ordered from MJ Boutique and two custom shirts and some poppy pins from ModestMaven (a birthday present from my mom).

mystery_package

The third package was a surprise from an old friend, the guy who lived in the apartment above ours during college. Mark was just the sort of guy you hope to meet in your early twenties. He was eccentric in a good way: interested in old movies, esoteric music, Paul Klee, typography, Indian cuisine and vintage cameras. While he majored in Art History, it was clear that his talent lay in something more creative. His keen eye for the overlooked beauty in a rusted factory led him into photography. I never get tired at paging through his portfolio.

Mark has always been fascinated by the marginalia of life: an abandoned refinery, vintage Elizabeth Cotton recordings or cans of condensed aged cheddar sauce. When his package arrived yesterday, I was delighted but not surprised by the book. Candy Jernigan is cut from the same cloth as Mark, picking up bits of ephemera from her wanderings to document her swim through daily life. However the other objects in the package, wrapped in a brown paper bag from an antique store in Texas have me stumped. What could they be?Measuring 10″ long, hollow with a brass tip.

This is where the contest comes in. Leave your best guess as a comment and I will randomly select a reader for a mystery package. The drawing will happen on Thursday, my birthday. Gotta share the love that flows so abundantly my way.

Winner:

Maya of Springtree Road. Not only did Maya correctly identify the mystery object as textile spindles, the number one was selected by two different random number generators. A surprise package for felty goodness is on its way to Maya. Thanks for all the fun guesses!

9 Responses to “Mystery Package Birthday Contest”


  1. 1 maya Tuesday, September 15, 2009 at 9:50 am

    i know exactly what those are. they are old spools/spindles as would be used in an old textile mill.

    both my grandparents worked in a textile mill when i was a kid (and before i was born).

    awesome. now i want some for my own!

    http://tinyurl.com/m4w7jl

  2. 2 embellishboston Tuesday, September 15, 2009 at 9:52 am

    Antique cigarette holders?

  3. 3 Kristin Tuesday, September 15, 2009 at 11:08 am

    Gah! I missed it. My mom says they are yarn spools and are/were used at Pendleton Woolen Mills, and places like that. We had them growing up, and my mom used them as candle holders!

  4. 4 Carrie Tuesday, September 15, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    Wow, yarn spools. Too cool! I still think they’d make good magic wands, per my FB comment 🙂

  5. 5 Ozzy-A Tuesday, September 15, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    I believe they would make fantastic conductor batons, regardless of what they were in a former life. They look like they would feel good to hold in your hand and are regal as well, drawing the attention of an audience to the wielder.

  6. 6 Mel Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 5:59 am

    Hm, being a musician leads me to believe they are mouthpieces for a set of bagpipes…

  7. 7 Sue Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    When I opened your blog today I was so excited to see those beautiful spindles/spools. Have not seen those for years and they are lovely.

  8. 8 susie Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    I think some type of smoking device, or chalk holder, or weaving tool. Forget the cigarette holder the metal tips would burn you. P.s. I love your writing style as you were describing Mark I was thinking what a great descption the beginning of a good story. Very talented!!!

  9. 9 maya Thursday, September 17, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    yay! i’m psyched! thanks so much. 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


