Flowers in Focus

Two experiments have given me great delight in the last two days (I sound like Jacob Two-Two). Working with a four ounce hank of handpainted merino roving from KnittyAndColor, I made six felt flowers, varying the petal shape and layers with each one.

double_lily_sm

Generally, I’m much too scattered to work an entire collection from one hank of roving. As I pull out the boxes and look at my choices, my mind is filled with the possibilities. This time I needed to create a portfolio for a group of artists meeting to discuss an upcoming holiday show, so I forced myself to work within the limitation of a single colorway.

six_sm

It was astonishing to see how each flower developed on its own. As the roving played across my hands, I decided in that moment if the flower would have one, two, three or four layers of petals; which color would be in the center and how the colors would work together.

six_row_sm

The second experiment began with a short exchange between Maya of Springtree Road regarding her beautiful product photography. As soon as I started to follow her on Twitter, her work stuck out head and shoulders above the fray for its striking shots. While the yarn is gorgeous, it is really her camera that makes the work sing.

When I brought the purple flowers to the meeting last night, they were greeted with a universal exclamation: “These are so much more beautiful than on your website”. Ugh. Okay, let’s try a little harder.

While picking up my camera from the repair shop today and returning their loaner, I decided to rent a lens for the weekend to see if it was worth the pricetag. Normally, I have a hard time plunking down hard-earned money. I listen to an iPod shuffle, drive a ’91 Volvo and my wardrobe is all thrifted. Can a photo add enough value to a product to justify the expense?

I don’t know the answer, but this lens makes me happy. Crazy happy. I was in love after the first shot. Oh, so this is what I’ve been missing, I thought to myself as I snapped, adjusted, reviewed, snapped some more etc… Come Monday, I think I’ll buy myself another birthday present.

6 Responses to “Flowers in Focus”


  1. 1 loren Saturday, September 19, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    These are the best!

  2. 2 maya | springtree road Sunday, September 20, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    yay for good glass!

    i love to take lovely photos, but it’s so important to show the product as realistically as possible. and a better camera/lens will do that better/easier than your average point & shoot. i like to think that anything extra one might see in the photos of my yarn comes from loving what i do (spin yarn/take photos) so very much.

  3. 3 Erika Carlson Sunday, September 20, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    I love these flowers – the color is so gorgeous, they just make me breathe more deeply. I don’t know what it is about them!

  4. 4 Carrie Tuesday, September 22, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    Holy smokes, Leah, those are spectacular. And the pictures are good too 😉

  5. 5 Jennifer Friday, September 25, 2009 at 10:00 am

    This are so unbelievably gorgeous. I especially love the first one!

  6. 6 Ann-Mi Saturday, September 26, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    This is beautiful. I can imagine an entire shawl or mural growing with these assorted flowers. Somehow, the fact that they are within one color scale only makes them all the more impressive.


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


