Feltilocks

I spent hours and hours yesterday working on an idea that had been buzzing around in my head for several months. When it started to appear in my dreams, I knew it was time to start working it out in the studio.

I first saw feltmaker Tash Wesp wearing a bracelet she made of felt dreads at a workshop we took together in May. While I didn’t want to knock off her idea, I couldn’t stop thinking about how to make my own version.

My felt workshops always generate lots of scrap bits of roving, and often when I create a work, there is just a tail end of a handpainted colorway too precious to throw away. The pile of ends was spilling out of its plastic bag, so it was time to put them to use.

feltilocks_boardwalk_sm

When they are spread flat, the locks remind me of strange seastars washed up on the beach.

feltilocks_colors_sm

The best part was pulling the colors together to make different combinations. I spent two hours working on the color pairing for fourteen pieces. These are now available in my etsy shop and will also be for sale at the upcoming holiday fairs (watch here for a save the date announcement coming soon).

My daughter wore one in a ponytail to school this morning; the best I could do was pull together two tiny ponytails on top of my head. Walking down the sidewalk this morning, I couldn’t help skipping.

6 Responses to “Feltilocks”


  1. 1 Dawn Monday, November 2, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    Those are adorably cute! I haven’t tried using felted dreads in my yarn falls yet, but the difference in texture would be a lot of fun!

  2. 2 cat Monday, November 2, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    These look fantastic. I love your colour combinations. They remind me of sea anenomes, when they are all scrunched up.

  3. 3 nova Monday, November 2, 2009 at 11:10 pm

    what a cool idea! love the colour combinations 😀

  4. 4 FELT 4U Tuesday, November 3, 2009 at 7:31 am

    So Funky and Fun. love them, especially on your hair.

  5. 5 Karen Wednesday, November 4, 2009 at 6:13 am

    Love these! I’ve been growing my hair out since a horrific hair butchery last summer and now I just have to try making one of these for me. 🙂


  1. 1 Spiders Welcome Here « HomeWork Trackback on Monday, September 27, 2010 at 11:49 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories


