Spiders Welcome Here

After working all day to assemble a large set of Feltilocks, I decided to take a break to photograph my gorgeous pile of roving. Nothing excites me like a mess of color. Reds, golds, greens and blues all thrown in together surprise me with their combinations. I set off with my camera and a length of bamboo stacked with roving, looking for the perfect location.

As the light wasn’t ideal in the backyard, I walked around to the front where I hoped to lean the bamboo in a corner of our boxwood hedge. Have you ever walked into something right in front of your face because you were looking into the distance? Watching the children across the street, I walked through one spiderweb, then speared a second, knocking a large spider into my roving in the process.

Isn’t she gorgeous? This is a European Cross, Araneus diadematus, an appropriate name considering the pattern along the abdomen.

I was expecting to have fun photographing the felt, but tracking this speedy little spider was an unexpected bonus.

When I dreamed up the name SpiderFelt, the idea of staging a photo shoot with a live spider escaped my imagination. Who would have thought it could be so much fun? If you are out there Carrie, I was thinking of you the whole time. There may be a job as a spider wrangler somewhere in my future.

1 Response to “Spiders Welcome Here”


  1. 1 Deb Seeger Friday, October 1, 2010 at 7:48 am

    I was delighted to read your tutorial on felting with unprocessed (dirty) fleece. I, too, have experimented with it, was, like you, thrilled, and amazed with the results. I even dyed the dirty wool, only to find the tips, which are free of lanolin, nicely absorbed the dye while the head of the locks were only slightly tinted.
    I was impressed with your observation that the locks remained where the lanolin was the thickest. As I have tried endless to wet felt vessels with locks left in tact. I tried covering them with a smooth resist and they still felted. Now, I have a plan. I purchase lanolin by the pound from a pharmacy for its rich, rapid healing properties and its abilities to moisturize dry winter skin. What a fantastic idea of coating the locks with lanolin before felting, to lock in the locks. If the lanolin is heated, it becomes very thin and liquidized. Then, at room temperature, it reverts to a thick, sticky substance. Thank you for posting your observations.


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


