One Bird, Two Bird, Home for a Pretty Bird

In late June, I felted three birdhouses to send as thank you gifts to acquaintances who generously offered their hospitality to our family without knowing us very well or expecting anything in return.

I put a lot of thought into making these pieces everything a perfect felt home should be. A veteran feltmaker instructed me to think about adding embellishments seamlessly when designing a new piece in order to demonstrate the unique nature of the medium. In this case I built a perch and hanger into the design.

The result thrilled me. My mind always trolling for new ideas to create as a working artist, I couldn’t wait to make more. However, as lovely as the design was, I couldn’t imagine selling something so time consuming unless represented by an art gallery. During the summer, I worked on a couple of further variations, allowing the resists to inform the shape.

The blue birdhouse was formed around a plastic mesh onion bag, understuffed with empty plastic bags. The final shape reminded me of an Inuit umiak. Ultimately, I decided to allow the simplest shape to prevail, spending time playing with color and different fibers to satisfy my need for variation and my opposition to mechanical production.

This lot has been delivered to my newest consignment, The Herbalist on NE65th in Seattle’s Ravenna neighborhood. Expect to see them hung in late November along with an assortment of kits and felt soaps for their first holiday gift sale.

Note: thanks to the support this post received, I’ve just added a listing in my etsy shop.

4 Responses to “One Bird, Two Bird, Home for a Pretty Bird”


  1. 1 Heather Monday, November 8, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    These are fantastic!!

    I especially like the one with the perch. Excellent idea!

  2. 2 erika Monday, November 8, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    makes me want to be a bird so I can live in one of these cozy homes!

  3. 3 ela Tuesday, November 9, 2010 at 8:56 am

    Great!
    I like them very much!

  4. 4 katie Monday, November 22, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    These are simply awesome! What a brilliant idea. your friends are lucky to recieve these.


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories


