Fruity Boxes and Stamp Swap

strawberries.jpgI love, love, love late June in the Northwest because this is when my garden favorites are ripening and blooming: strawberries, raspberries, cherries, snap peas, snow peas, carrots, rhubarb, fushias, california poppies, asiatic lilies, lavender, feverfew and more I can’t name.

We’ve been picking berries in our garden, went to a u-pick last week, and have bought many pints at the farmer’s markets. All of these berries have left me with a tall stack of little green containers on my kitchen counter. Normally, I would just compost the little cardboard boxes with the rest of my kitchen scraps, but this year something was calling to me. “Wouldn’t I make the perfect little holder for something?” I heard yesterday morning (my mother says she has never seen anyone with more containers than me).

modpodge.jpg

Since the mod podge was still handy, I pulled out some more textured paper and some stamps. I tore the paper into strips, layering paper on both sides of the container.

stamp_twofer.jpg

Next I started laying on the stamps, overlaying, working to cover up all the corners and edges. When I was done, I painted the whole thing with a generous coat of mod podge, which was starting to give me a headache (note to  self: open the front door next time). When I checked on it this morning, the container was glossy and fully sealed. I have plans for many more, using more stringent selection criteria on the stamps. You see, I have a bit of a stamp stash, so I can afford to be judicious in my choices.

stamp_giveaway.jpg

There is a long story behind this duffel bag, and if you really want me to tell you sometime, just ask, but suffice it to say that the stamps were collected by several Rotary clubs in New Hampshire. This is actually, just a small portion of the stamps they passed on to my mother-in-law. I took roughly half of her lot home two summers ago, and have given away a few large bags to various classrooms. The problem is the pile isn’t getting any smaller, and even if I covered ever single berry box we eat this summer, I will still have more left over than I will ever need.

This is where you, the readers come in. I’m offering to fill a business envelope with 1oz of stamps from every corner of the globe for you. What is $0.39 between friends? If you would like more, this can be arranged. Just leave your name in the comments and I’ll contact you for your address.

22 Responses to “Fruity Boxes and Stamp Swap”


  1. 1 Meg McElwee Saturday, June 30, 2007 at 8:27 am

    Count me in, Leah! This is perfect timing, too, as I will be in California visiting my parents in a few weeks. I’ll shoot you off an email with their address. Thanks a bunch!

  2. 2 kristin Saturday, June 30, 2007 at 9:12 am

    wow!! really? you’re willing to share? 🙂 i’d love, LOVE, LOVE a portion of your stamps…that’s very generous of you :). (although, i hate to be the one to tell you it’s now $0.42 for a stamp)

    also, i really like how your mod podge box turned out.

  3. 3 Cheryl Sunday, July 1, 2007 at 8:09 am

    How did you read my mind? I just started getting the idea that I needed to add stamps to my stash! How about if I send you some pieces of vintage wallpaper for your modpodging in return? I’d love to see what you come up with.

    btw – I did manage to complete my skirts – nothing nearly so elegant as Marianna’s but then I was working from a square dance dress 🙂

  4. 4 jackie Monday, July 2, 2007 at 4:12 am

    Would you be willing to send some to Canada? I’ll send you something in return. I’m not quite sure what. I’ll think on it if you are interested. No lobster though. Canada Post frowns on such a deed!

  5. 5 lance Monday, July 2, 2007 at 8:49 am

    I like the picture of the strawberries with the text around it.
    And a stamp currently costs 41 cents.
    yours

  6. 6 Kirstin Tuesday, July 3, 2007 at 12:58 pm

    That would be so awesome! We’d love some stamps and would be happy to put together a fun little trade item in return.
    Kirstin

  7. 7 Bev Tuesday, July 3, 2007 at 11:07 pm

    Let me know if you still would have stamps left over. I don;t mind paying you for more if they are from different countries.

    Thanks

  8. 8 Angela Tuesday, July 3, 2007 at 11:28 pm

    I would love some stamps and as I’m sure you’re getting a few requests, I am happy to paypal you $.50 for your troubles. Anyway just let me know and I’ll give you my info! Thanks and I’m new to your site and loving what I see!

  9. 9 Tracy Thursday, July 5, 2007 at 1:14 pm

    What a lovely idea! If you haven’t doled out all the stamps, I’d be delighted to have some. I’d be happy to paypal you, too.

    Your site makes me just want to sit down with a cup of tea and feel glad that there are such creative people in the world. It’s soothing
    just to look!

  10. 10 Metallyptica Tuesday, July 10, 2007 at 1:50 pm

    That stamp basket is such a great ideia!! I have lots of stamps cause when I was little my grandfather made me start up a collection… I still keep the collection, but I have lots of repeated ones so I can do all sorts of things with them!! Thanks for the ideia!!

  11. 11 teresa Wednesday, July 11, 2007 at 1:53 pm

    I would love some stamps, if you’re still doling them out. I am anticipating projects with my daughter, who is a bit young for it now but will be ready soon, I believe. Loved your box!

  12. 12 stephanie Friday, July 13, 2007 at 12:35 pm

    I found you via Kleas blog…I am always looking for stamps!! I’d love some if you still want to do this and will contact me.

    thanks!!!

  13. 13 Donna Marie Saturday, July 14, 2007 at 9:01 pm

    This is wonderful! I too, would love to have some! This would be wonderful for the children, thank you!

  14. 14 Melissa Saturday, July 14, 2007 at 9:27 pm

    I would be very interested in some stamps!!
    Are you still sending them out?

  15. 15 SuzanneG Sunday, July 15, 2007 at 2:18 pm

    This is a great idea! I would LOVE some! I love your blog, BTW…I had a very nice visit!

  16. 16 Lucy Wednesday, July 18, 2007 at 5:30 am

    My son is collecting stamps right now and just about died when he saw the bag of stamps. Too much fun.

  17. 17 Dana Tuesday, July 31, 2007 at 7:56 am

    opps I left my comment on the wrong day! we would love some too.

  18. 18 erika Friday, August 3, 2007 at 1:29 pm

    I’d love some stamps – we don’t have so many containers here but an ample supply of paper products…I’m thinking maybe wrapping paper with stamps? Can I get 2 oz?

    Thanks,
    Erika

  19. 19 Meg Monday, August 6, 2007 at 12:32 pm

    If I’m not too late, I’d love some stamps. I think I have some scrapbooking ideas they’d go lovely with. Thanks!

  20. 20 beeutiffle Friday, August 10, 2007 at 4:39 am

    I’m probably a bit late but if there are any left I would love some stamps from another country. Would you send to New Zealand? I’m happy to send something in return 🙂 i came here through the Kleas site.

  21. 21 Laura Sunday, September 2, 2007 at 8:36 pm

    I just found you through Apron Thrift Girl and while I am fairly late on the uptake, I would absolutely love some stamps and would happily paypal you for them! I can’t imagine you have any left, but if you do, please count me in!

  22. 22 Dawn Racca Thursday, July 15, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    Hi,
    I can’t believe how generous you are being! If you still have stamps, I will send you postage for as many as you care to share. Thanks,
    Dawn


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories