Felt Gifts for Baby Showers

For starters, please forgive the image-heavy post and the shameless self-promotion over the last few weeks. I’m going to blame it all on my sister-in-law Beth. She phoned me a few weeks ago to ask if I had any ideas for shower gifts. Five friends were holding baby showers in the coming weeks and she needed ideas.  With a little help, I was able to brainstorm a slew of ideas from my own archives, as well as some new ideas:

Felt Bead Necklace – beads slide along a wax-coated cotton cord so mother and child can play at feeding time

Felt Balls – solid felt balls when they are fully felted actually bounce!

Felt Boxes – for toys, socks and more

Soft plushy made from recycled felt – try stuffing the toy with dried lavender

Felt-covered Journal – for the hours you spend just sitting quietly, it is nice to have a few journals scattered about so you can capture the memories before they fade away

Felt Mobile – imagine all the different dangles you could hang from twigs, bamboo, chopsticks, skewers or a bent clothes hanger

Felt Booties or Slippers

Felt Sleep Sack – either for an older sibling, or for a tiny baby

All of my items are either currently available in my etsy shop, or can be created as a custom order within one week’s notice.

Here are some of my favorites from etsy:

The neatest baby toy I’ve seen in a while is a Magnet Caterpillar, made by a Dutch woman on etsy. Large felted balls are created around strong magnets. Love it!

The tattoo artwork on this breastfeeding pin-up girl t-shirt is fantastic.

Silk or wool baby Waldorf pilot caps knit with love by Shelleycaskey.

There never seemed to be enough clean nursing pads in my drawer during my son’s first year. This great shop makes colorful nursing pads with great fabrics. If you prefer something neutral in color, why not hemp nursing pads?

Though I haven’t purchased a baby carrier on Etsy, so I can vouch for any of the sellers as I can for the lovely artists I listed above, there are lots of choices.

If you want even more ideas, check out the Etsy Gift Guide – Baby. Phew! That is a lot of shopping!

6 Responses to “Felt Gifts for Baby Showers”


  1. 1 sarah Wednesday, April 23, 2008 at 2:28 am

    I like how you’ve grouped your felt by this theme. I think the necklace is brilliant and would have worn one while nursing (or other times). All those boxes are beautiful.

  2. 2 Carrie Wednesday, April 23, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    I literally gasped when I saw those felt balls. Love the decorative touch!! Thanks for the Etsy tips too — I am drooling over that tattoo shirt!

  3. 3 Cheryl Wednesday, April 23, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    great post – love the pin-up tee!

  4. 4 carolineinckle Wednesday, April 30, 2008 at 11:47 am

    What lovely lovely things!
    Caroline
    X

  5. 5 Wendy Friday, May 2, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    What gorgeous goodies! Felting is another crafting skill that I have yet to learn. And I love to see all your inspiring work. Maybe one of these days (or years) I’ll give it a try.


  1. 1 Felt Ideas | More More Pics Trackback on Saturday, February 19, 2011 at 6:08 am
Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories