Flat Felt Box

What do you do with a big piece of uninspired flat felt that has been hanging on your felt clothesline for too long? Applehead had a great idea, but I wanted something that required a little less measuring and cutting, so I worked out this alternative. There are four straight seams, which can be done with a sewing machine or by hand.

flat_box.jpg

Trim the long edges as these will be your side seams. The short sides can stay wavy to give the top edge a sculptural look.

flat_box_seaminstructions.jpg

Seam the sides, and then create two triangles on the bottom. This will take a little pinching and fiddling, but you should be able to get a nice triangle; the size of your triangle will affect the shape of your ultimate box. If you want something square, your triangle needs to be fairly deep; a shallow triangle will create a box that is more rectangular.

flat_box_bottomview.jpg

You can either tack down the little flaps with a couple of stitches, or trim them off.

flat_box_bottomseam.jpg

The bottom and side of your box will look like a neat “T”.

flat_box_right.jpg

The Felt Box from the right,

flat_box_left.jpg

and the Felt Box from the left.

I love this shape so much, I plan to make many more pieces of flat felt just so I can seam them all up. These will make great project baskets to further clutter the area around my easy chair.

10 Responses to “Flat Felt Box”


  1. 1 Lydia / Windansea Sunday, March 11, 2007 at 5:16 pm

    Hi Leah, thanks for visiting my blog – I’m so glad you like the green cables hat, and yes, it’s perfect for a quick giveaway knit. I love your work….take a look at my wine cozies on my blog (there’s a link to the pattern on the sidebar) – the end product comes out like your vase, but they were felted after knitting. Very cool!

  2. 2 marti Monday, March 12, 2007 at 9:21 pm

    You are so incredibly talented. I love the felted box!

  3. 3 Janice Friday, April 4, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    i just wanted to let you know that I stummbled upon your site – I love it!!! You have great pictures and lots of detail….perfect for a lonely Friday night. I am new to felting, began last fall, and like needle felting a lot. I haven’t produced many pieces but continue to probe along. My problem is my hands and fingers have become numb and stiff and really painful. If I do not felt daily the problem lessens. Too many years of detailed art work I guess.

    Anyhow, if you have any suggestions to easse my pain I would love to connect. Also does one have to full a needle felted piece? Should I wet felt it into a rigid piece by hand, or toss it into the washing machine with towls around it? What have you experienced?

    Your husband and son are adorable – you have a lovely family, good internet energy, and your work is lovely.

    Janice

  4. 4 kim Thursday, September 11, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    hi! i love your work — and i love this box idea! i am going to give it a try. thanks so much for the nice tutorial 🙂

  5. 5 Chrissie Tuesday, October 27, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    love the box and the retreat looks cool
    Chrissie
    http://feltingfibres.wordpress.com

  6. 6 Karen Friday, April 16, 2010 at 8:15 am

    This was wonderful to stumble upon – look forward to new posts. Karen


  1. 1 Composed Mondrian Felt Boxes « HomeWork Trackback on Thursday, August 20, 2009 at 6:46 am
  2. 2 Spring Clean « Itto's Living Faith Trackback on Sunday, February 28, 2010 at 3:39 pm
  3. 3 Spring Clean « Itto's Living Faith Trackback on Sunday, February 28, 2010 at 3:39 pm
  4. 4 Handmade Felt vs. Industrial Felt Yardage « HomeWork Trackback on Friday, April 23, 2010 at 3:17 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories