Flat Felt Box

What do you do with a big piece of uninspired flat felt that has been hanging on your felt clothesline for too long? Applehead had a great idea, but I wanted something that required a little less measuring and cutting, so I worked out this alternative. There are four straight seams, which can be done with a sewing machine or by hand.

flat_box.jpg

Trim the long edges as these will be your side seams. The short sides can stay wavy to give the top edge a sculptural look.

flat_box_seaminstructions.jpg

Seam the sides, and then create two triangles on the bottom. This will take a little pinching and fiddling, but you should be able to get a nice triangle; the size of your triangle will affect the shape of your ultimate box. If you want something square, your triangle needs to be fairly deep; a shallow triangle will create a box that is more rectangular.

flat_box_bottomview.jpg

You can either tack down the little flaps with a couple of stitches, or trim them off.

flat_box_bottomseam.jpg

The bottom and side of your box will look like a neat “T”.

flat_box_right.jpg

The Felt Box from the right,

flat_box_left.jpg

and the Felt Box from the left.

I love this shape so much, I plan to make many more pieces of flat felt just so I can seam them all up. These will make great project baskets to further clutter the area around my easy chair.

9 Responses to “Flat Felt Box”


  1. 1 Lydia / Windansea Sunday, March 11, 2007 at 5:16 pm

    Hi Leah, thanks for visiting my blog – I’m so glad you like the green cables hat, and yes, it’s perfect for a quick giveaway knit. I love your work….take a look at my wine cozies on my blog (there’s a link to the pattern on the sidebar) – the end product comes out like your vase, but they were felted after knitting. Very cool!

  2. 2 marti Monday, March 12, 2007 at 9:21 pm

    You are so incredibly talented. I love the felted box!

  3. 3 Janice Friday, April 4, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    i just wanted to let you know that I stummbled upon your site – I love it!!! You have great pictures and lots of detail….perfect for a lonely Friday night. I am new to felting, began last fall, and like needle felting a lot. I haven’t produced many pieces but continue to probe along. My problem is my hands and fingers have become numb and stiff and really painful. If I do not felt daily the problem lessens. Too many years of detailed art work I guess.

    Anyhow, if you have any suggestions to easse my pain I would love to connect. Also does one have to full a needle felted piece? Should I wet felt it into a rigid piece by hand, or toss it into the washing machine with towls around it? What have you experienced?

    Your husband and son are adorable – you have a lovely family, good internet energy, and your work is lovely.

    Janice

  4. 4 kim Thursday, September 11, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    hi! i love your work — and i love this box idea! i am going to give it a try. thanks so much for the nice tutorial :)

  5. 5 Chrissie Tuesday, October 27, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    love the box and the retreat looks cool
    Chrissie
    http://feltingfibres.wordpress.com

  6. 6 Karen Friday, April 16, 2010 at 8:15 am

    This was wonderful to stumble upon – look forward to new posts. Karen


  1. 1 Composed Mondrian Felt Boxes « HomeWork Trackback on Thursday, August 20, 2009 at 6:46 am
  2. 2 Spring Clean « Itto's Living Faith Trackback on Sunday, February 28, 2010 at 3:39 pm
  3. 3 Handmade Felt vs. Industrial Felt Yardage « HomeWork Trackback on Friday, April 23, 2010 at 3:17 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Likke felt collar

Gunnel Felt Collar

Gunnel Felt Collar

More Photos

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

