Felt Sleep Sack

This started out as an experiment to see if I could take advantage of Arachne’s size to make large pieces of felt fabric more easily than I could create them by hand. I wanted to make a sleep sack, a slightly more functional baby gift than the standard blanket.

A friend with children much younger than mine, and who uses sleeps sacks regularly, burst my bubble when she said this was too small for a newborn. Measuring 20″ x 11″, I can now see what her eye was able to assess in an instant. Both of my babies measured 22″ at birth. Clearly, I need to start with a much larger piece of felt, but I’m not sure how much larger I can get with the current constraints of my workbench.

For now, it will make a dandy sleeping bag for my son’s favorite pal. My mother made this Waldorf doll for his first birthday. Not only did she make the doll without a pattern, but the outfit matches a full size version she crafted for his birthday. I’m amazed at her cleverness. This doll has lived through many adventures and hours of play. Now he has his own sleeping bag to keep him warm.

4 Responses to “Felt Sleep Sack”


  1. 1 Josiane Friday, April 11, 2008 at 6:15 am

    Your son’s favourite pal is awesome! Your mom is very talented!
    From what I can see, your sleep sack is made from one piece of felt that you’ve folded and sewn. What if you were sewing two pieces of felt together? Then, you wouldn’t have to do one that would be twice as big, and that may fit better on your workbench.
    Your package came in the mail yesterday! Thank you! And there was no need to apologize for the packaging: I thought it was really cool! The flower has found its place in the vase in which I keep my spindles; that makes for a lovely display. I’ve had a quick look at the book, and I’ve already found a couple of ideas that I want to try as soon as possible. Thanks also for the little surprise!

  2. 2 Erika Carlson Friday, April 11, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    this sleep sack is so cute – I think you should put these for sale on your website – people sell doll slings!

  3. 3 yaake Saturday, April 12, 2008 at 6:47 am

    Awwww…. This is soooooooooo cute…!!! 😀
    This is why I love your blog!! My fiance’ harasses me to buy stuff from you!! hehe…
    http://mirrorcracked.wordpress.com

  4. 4 Laura Saturday, April 12, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    This is just adorable! I would love to see you have a line of larger ones for shower gifts!


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories